or, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to Fear and Loathing at a Public Library Reference Desk



If You Love Something…

   November 1st, 2007

BookCrossing.com logo...read it and release it.

So, I've finally gotten around to registering and releasing some books through BookCrossing.com.

With all of my traveling lately, the books I've released (just four) have all been at airports. Which is fine, because that's four more books added to the collection of the Airport Public Library.

So far, I like this. It feels so odd to intentionally leave a book somewhere, but it's for a good cause. It can be fun, too - like letterboxing and geocaching, the goal is to make the drop without letting anyone see you. At least, that's what's going through my head.

Anyway, if you have extra books, give it a try.

Incidentally, I did not buy the starter pack (why buy when you can do it yourself?). Instead, I printed out their label template [62kb, pdf] (for inside the cover) and also created another template [5kb, pdf] for the outside of the book cover. And instead of printing these on sticky labels, I just attached them with packing tape. Works just fine, and cost nothing.

airport public library, bookcrossing, bookcrossing.com, bookcrossings, bookcrossings.com, libraries, library, read and release, used books, what to do with used books




Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


2 Responses to “If You Love Something…”

  1. fairy-whispers Says:

    I found this post by searching for ‘bookcrossing’ on Multiply’s search. I love BookCrossing. I print out my own labels, too, though I mostly use those designed by myself and other Bookcrossers, rather than the generic ones on the site.

    Your name sounds familiar. It’s possible I’ve seen you on BookCrossing or LibraryThing?

    Anyhow, how did your books go? Have they been caught?

  2. Brian Herzog Says:

    So far, only one of my books have been “captured,” but it’s still worth it. I enjoy releasing the books, and I’ll just keep telling myself that they’re being enjoyed by someone somewhere. And yes, I do get around the internet, and usually use the same username: herzogbr – if you see my profile somewhere, please leave a comment to say hi.