or, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to Fear and Loathing at a Public Library Reference Desk

Search Results for


The World Still Is A Good Place

   Posted on Wednesday, February 1st, 2017 in Books, Library, Random | 3 Comments »

Last week, someone called the library asking if they could return a book by mail. Of course, we said, that’s no problem. This week, a package arrived with this inside: How awesome is that? I have no idea if American Airlines, or airlines in general, make this a general practice, or if this Flight Attendant […]

Read More...


Display Idea: What Your Neighbor Is Reading

   Posted on Friday, January 20th, 2017 in Books, Library, Marketing | Comments Off on Display Idea: What Your Neighbor Is Reading

A reader of this blog, from the Wayne County Public Library, sent in a pretty awesome display idea that I wanted to share: At Wayne County Public Library we have a display by the checkout counter called “What Your Neighbor is Reading.” We just place items recently turned in on a cart with a “What […]

Read More...


An Old Solution to a New Problem

   Posted on Thursday, December 8th, 2016 in Books, Library, Marketing | 3 Comments »

One of those on-going discussions in the library world is how to display new books. Well, new-new books are easy: when something is recently published, it goes in the new book room, or on the new book shelf, for six months or a year or whatever you’re library’s practice is. And usually, it also gets […]

Read More...


Keeping Constant Contact Clean

   Posted on Wednesday, November 16th, 2016 in Library, Technology | 6 Comments »

Earlier this year, when the woman who used to be in charge of all our email newsletter retired, I became the library’s primary contact for our Constant Contact account. This meant I started getting the weekly emails about how many new subscribers we had, confirmation that messages were sent out, and I was the one […]

Read More...


Book Reviews in the Age of Email Leaks

   Posted on Wednesday, November 9th, 2016 in Books, Library, Technology | Comments Off on Book Reviews in the Age of Email Leaks

I was reading book reviews while doing selection for our non-fiction collection, and came across one for Age of Jihad: Islamic State and the Great War for the Middle East, by Patrick Cockburn. After what I read I still couldn’t decide whether or not to buy it for the library, so I went out to […]

Read More...


Readalikes for Old Bags.

   Posted on Thursday, June 2nd, 2016 in Books, Library, Random | 5 Comments »

Recently one of our patrons submitted a purchase suggestion for a book she saw reviewed in the Boston Globe: Old Bags Taking a Stand, by Faith Baum and Lori Petchers The patron had also clipped and stapled a little part of the Globe’s review, which made it sound interesting enough to investigate further. In cases […]

Read More...