or, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to Fear and Loathing at a Public Library Reference Desk

Search Results for


Keeping Constant Contact Clean

   Posted on Wednesday, November 16th, 2016 in Library, Technology | 5 Comments »

Earlier this year, when the woman who used to be in charge of all our email newsletter retired, I became the library’s primary contact for our Constant Contact account. This meant I started getting the weekly emails about how many new subscribers we had, confirmation that messages were sent out, and I was the one […]

Read More...


Book Reviews in the Age of Email Leaks

   Posted on Wednesday, November 9th, 2016 in Books, Library, Technology | No Comments »

I was reading book reviews while doing selection for our non-fiction collection, and came across one for Age of Jihad: Islamic State and the Great War for the Middle East, by Patrick Cockburn. After what I read I still couldn’t decide whether or not to buy it for the library, so I went out to […]

Read More...


Readalikes for Old Bags.

   Posted on Thursday, June 2nd, 2016 in Books, Library, Random | 5 Comments »

Recently one of our patrons submitted a purchase suggestion for a book she saw reviewed in the Boston Globe: Old Bags Taking a Stand, by Faith Baum and Lori Petchers The patron had also clipped and stapled a little part of the Globe’s review, which made it sound interesting enough to investigate further. In cases […]

Read More...


Boosting a Post on Facebook

   Posted on Friday, May 27th, 2016 in Library, Marketing | 6 Comments »

I mentioned this in passing at a meeting not too long ago, and it got enough interest that I thought it’d be worth posting here. The meeting topic was library marketing, especially for programs. I mentioned that my library occasionally boosted Facebook posts to great success – and it seemed like no one else in […]

Read More...


Reference Question of the Week – 4/17/16

   Posted on Saturday, April 23rd, 2016 in Library, Reference Question, Technology | Comments Off on Reference Question of the Week – 4/17/16

Since I am helping patrons less than before, the relative number of reference and tech support questions I get from staff have gone up. This is one of those. One day right as I was getting ready to leave for the day, someone working at the Circ Desk called down to say that Evergreen (our […]

Read More...


Reference Question of the Week – 4/10/16

   Posted on Saturday, April 16th, 2016 in Library, Reference Question | 6 Comments »

As Assistant Director, I’m definitely spending less time at a public desk than I expected. As such, far more of my patron interactions are actually either referrals of difficult patrons from the front-line staff, or else just stories heard second-hand. The latter is today’s question. We’re doing some construction next door to my library, which […]

Read More...